Logitech G100s, Hardware Review

1

I’ve been gaming on PC since 2012 so, in terms of gaming mice, I have only previously owned a Razer Naga 2014 edition and a CM Storm Spawn. I liked the Razer Naga, the primary buttons felt responsive and were very quiet, and the sensor felt fine to me just playing games casually. But, as I got more serious about gaming on my PC, I looked for a simpler mouse having never really used the 12 thumb buttons, I was also interested in finding a mouse with an optical sensor. I had only ever used mice with a palm grip, so I decided to try the CM Storm Spawn to see if I preferred using a claw grip. I settled on more of a fingertip grip and the spawn worked great for me, but as you may know, it is near impossible to find the perfect mouse. I prefer 400 CPI in FPS games, so the 800-1800-3500 CPI steps were insufficient for me. In addition, the Spawn’s shape made it difficult for a more relaxed grip when web browsing and the like.

This is where the G100s comes in. I’m by no means an expert, but the sensor on this mouse feels every bit as good as the Spawn’s did, I have had no issues with it. The primary buttons don’t feel quite as crisp as on my previous mice, but they still feel very responsive and have served my purpose well. The scroll wheel feels cheap, it has sort of a hollow sound, and middle clicking feels a little stiffer than others. While the tactile feel of the increments is okay, I have felt much better. I did on occasion have issues where the tactile increments didn’t line up with the actuations, but this was a rare incident, more on this later. The cord feels cheap and is a little stiff, but I have had no issues with it. The feet glide across my SteelSeries QCK Mass while still having enough resistance to have control over the mouse.

Logitech’s gaming software is the best I have used. It is very easy to navigate, and doesn’t need to run in the background. The CPI can be set from 250-2500 in 50 CPI increments. The best mouse software is one where you can quickly and easily make the needed adjustments and never have to worry about it again.

At this point, it may seem like I’m not particularly fond of the G100s, but the main draw of this mouse for me is the shape and weight of it. I have small hands, and this mouse fits my hand very well with my fingertip grip. I like the symmetrical design, and having had two mice with thumb buttons that I didn’t use I actually like the omission of side buttons, giving it a less cluttered look. The weight feels just about perfect. It is very light and easy to move around with fingertip and claw grips, and though I may have liked having rubber on the side of the mouse, the surface material of the mouse is easy enough to grip without getting too sticky. This mouse is light, while still having enough heft to it so it doesn’t feel like one of those cheap mice you might find at a library computer. It’s a shame Logitech made their mouse with this form factor one of their more budget mice, it deserved to be fitted with the best they had. This is definitely my favorite mouse, and it has been an absolute pleasure playing with it.

With all of that said, the left click on my mouse did start malfunctioning after about two months. The audible and tactile click didn’t always line up with the actuations, and I had some problems with double clicking with only a single click. The scroll wheel not lining up with the actuations became much more frequent around the time I started having problems with the left click. After some reading, I saw people with similar experiences, while others had no issues. I got a full refund, and was considering buying another G100s, but I decided to try out the G303 instead. From what I’ve read, the primary buttons and sensor should be a direct upgrade, even being touted as the best on the market today, so it all hinges on how I like the shape of the mouse. Let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

